Making Peace

The Boy, his Sisters and the Magic Horse s a Tibetan tale retold by Gioia Timpanelli. The story opens with the father digging a hole and telling his son to get in, because his son refused to hunt animals for food. He inscribes “Open or not as you please”  on the slab he slides on top of the boy. I have always been in awe of the son’s compassion for his parents at the end of this tale.

Folktales are full of warnings about fathers who trade their daughters, abuse, or imprison them, or worse. Some children get precious little from their fathers. And I’ve been thinking about mine.

 My father had good timing at odd times.

 Waking us three kids up, to stand in our PJs and wellies below our big coats, in the knee-deep snow of the back garden to wonder, open-mouthed,  at the flickering Aurora Borealis in a velvet sky, late, late one January night.

Accompanying him on each Sunday walk as a child, taught me patience and to enjoy the peace of nature, as we crouched waiting for native finches to be caught in the traps he’d set. I still like bird-watching. Here, at last, is a close-up of the shy Buff-colured Rail from one of my daily walks.

Buff-coloured Rail

 On occasions he has surprised me with simple gifts, like this letter in response to a book I sent him (“The Cunning Little Vixen, illustrated by Maurice Sendak). It’s the only evidence I have of his handwriting. (“Hen” is a Scots form of familiarity with a woman)

Handwriting

One time when I was visiting, he was very proud of a large white shell he’d picked up on the island of Coll in the Inner Hebrides. “You can have it,” he said.

IMG_2219

On another visit back home, he slipped this to me.

IMG_2217

“It’s a Penny-Spitfire.”

During WW11 he and his pals in the RAF workshop near Reykjavik, used to make them on the fly from a copper coin, and give them to the WAFs they liked, to pin to their uniforms.

When I was younger I fought a lot with my father … arguments, tantrums, name-calling. The last fight was in my twenties. I stormed out of their sea-side caravan, fuming into the gloaming for a good long walk and got back hours later. The caravan was dark. They’d gone to the pub … and by a park light, I saw pinned to the door was a torn brown envelope, and written in my father’s hand.

“Come home. Meg, ALL is forgiven.’

Well, that did it. Peace ever since.

All photos and text by Meg

Story Twigs …! by Meg Philp is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

2 thoughts on “Making Peace

  1. Dear Meg,
    This post was packed with good stories, and it painted such a good portrait of your dad. I really enjoyed photos of all your special keepsakes–they reminded me of some of mine. And I’d never heard the term ‘hen’ used that way, and your dad’s note on the door moved me to tears. You were certainly loved. Thank you for another wonderful post, Meg.
    Love,
    Naomi

    Like

Leave a Reply

