What do you mean you’re a storyteller?

IMG_7243I was taken aback at this question. I can rattle off the Scots proverb as someone who tells selected stories to listeners … eye to eye, mind to mind, and heart to heart.

Holding all the stories that I have ever heard … to put that energy into the present one I’m telling, to entertain a particular audience.

I carry stories inside me. They make a growing list.

I have to get better at thinking on my feet and responding to a question like this … with how I feel at the time.

Mostly I’m in a warm, ordinary place connected with a story – the one that I’m working on is usually working on me, as the teller.

I do a lot of walking and take my time.

Being a storyteller is an ongoing journey towards every telling.

Then I give it away.

Today I’m heading to a storytelling festival and when I looked at my elephant-shaped, perpetual calendar, not only did it show the day I leave, but also the day I return! I hope to think about storytelling like an elephant … and never forget!

2 thoughts on “What do you mean you’re a storyteller?

  1. Your stories are wonderful Meg! Don’t take it to heart when someone asks you a question and you need to take some time to answer it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

