Everyday Ornate : Weekly Photo Challenge

Nothing is more ornate that the orchid growing out of a tree in my back yard right now.

   IMG_8074

I leave it to it’s own devices, never fertilise it … hose it when I’m watering the pots nearby.

IMG_8060

Every year it presents a show of flowers from the first buds opening in September till the last flower falls in May.

IMG_8072

Yesterday, I counted 37 flower heads and 2 buds on its 2 spikes.

IMG_8073

A friend gave me this Phaleanopsis orchid as a memento when my mother died in September 2006. When I cast my eyes over its loveliness, I remember mum, our times together … all her hard work to raise us … and kindnesses.

All text and photos by Meg. Story Twigs the Imagination! by Meg Philp is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

10 thoughts on “Everyday Ornate : Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Dear Meg,

    Lovely photos! Don’t know how I missed this post! I just now found the button that will notify me of new comments via email, which is the second best thing to being notified by email when a new post comes out, but I can’t find a button for that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

