Inside a Circle: Weekly Photo Challenge

This week’s challenge about circles had me determined to look from a different angle. I ended up on the floor, looking at a light fitting!

There’s an invisible, inspirational net inside a circle.

DSCF3074

Look closer.

DSCF3078

… and closer…DSCF3093

more circles inside a circle. This reminded me of a story –

An ancient Hindu myth tells of the all-powerful god Indra, the greatest creative force in their mythical world, how he lived in a magnificent place in the heavens. Stretched above him and reaching out into infinity, was hung an exquisite net, skilfully crafted. At each node, a multi-faceted jewel sparkled. Since the net was infinite, the jewels were too. And each jewel reflected all the others. Thus the smallest movement flashed throughout the net, glittering like stars across the heavens,  and on into infinity.

The first time I heard of Indra’s Net was at a workshop on “Science and Stories” at a National Storytelling conference in USA in the 90’s. It’s been at the back of my mind for a long time. My search for stories about sustainability have brought it forward again.

IMG_8525

As an storyteller, the story I choose to tell needs to have caused a similar net of connections in my thinking, to be meaningful to me, before I make a commitment to it.  As I tell it, later, orally, the listener can be making their own private connections. One image of a character, one action, can set off a chain of reactions in their imagination.

Now I see why it takes me so long to find a great story to tell. It happens when it makes lots of flashes of connection in my imagination!

IMG_8529

The story of Indra’s net reinforces the interconnectedness of all things, in nature, in this world and beyond, even in circles and especially in stories.

All text and photos by Meg.

Reference sources:

The Indra’s Net :What is it? Downloaded 01012016 by M.Philp

RAMSDEN, Ashley. Jewels on Indra’s Net in GERSIE, Alida et al. (ed.) Storytelling for a Greener World: environment, community and story-based learning. Stoud, Glos. Hawthorn Press, 2014.

Story Twigs the Imagination! by Meg Philp is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Circle

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Inside a Circle: Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. I loved your photos. I found an old crystal chandelier many years ago and have been saving it…for what, I don’t know. But this year I borrowed several of its dangles to make holiday gifts for those I love. Called ’em Window Earrings…old, leftover Hippie beads leading down to a light-catching crystal. Enjoyed sharing that kind of light magic! Think I’ll write about that. (I’m a brand new blogger.) Thanks for your stories and images!

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind comment. This is an old chandelier that I found in pieces and fixed, for I too enjoy that kind of light magic. When it was all rewired and I, expectantly, first switched it on, the light was blazing. We covered our eyes! I had put electric bulbs in with too high wattage. We did have a good laugh. Welcome to blogging!

      Like

  2. Dear Meg,
    I love the way you connect your thoughts and photos seamlessly with your story–a beautiful demonstration of the way all things are connected. And you know how I do love sparkle. As always, you shine!
    Love,
    Naomi

    Like

Leave a Reply

